To My Friends and Family

I’m writing this post on the backside of a conversation I had with Elaine today regarding the content of my blog posts online. She and I had a constructive conversation about the (potentially) controversial nature of some of the content I’m writing about, especially regarding my more theologically and socially conservative friends and family.

First, I would like to say that I love writing, and I’m not going to stop. It is the manner in which I feel I can best express myself, my thoughts, and my faith. It also helps me to work through various theological and philosophical issues, and helps me to become a better writer overall. Nonetheless, my views are my own, and they are subject to change – as I think they should for everyone.

Second (and with complete honesty and openness), I recognize that many of the issues I have written about – and no doubt, will write about – are controversial (to some) in nature. To be clear, I am not simply choosing to write about topics that are controversial for controversy’s sake. I write about them because they are important to me right now, I find them interesting, and I want to have an open and honest discussion with people from all walks of life about these issues – whether you agree or disagree with me. However, while some of you may find my treatment of topics to be over-the-deep-end theologically, or too liberal or emergent or whatever, this is not the case with a large population of theologians and Christians across the nation.

In other words, to you, I might seem too liberal. To others, I am seen as too conservative.

I write because I love it, and because I love talking about God. I also love having healthy, constructive discussion and debate. If you agree or disagree with me regarding something I post, please leave a comment on this blog or on my Facebook page. If you would like to better understand where I’m coming from or why I think a certain way, respond by having a conversation with me – not by talking about how “concerned” you are for me, or immediately attacking my viewpoint. I don’t mind disagreement, but I won’t take any kind of belligerence or ignorant attacks seriously. This, I feel, is the way forward for all of us.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for being supportive. Grace and peace to you all.

2 thoughts on “To My Friends and Family

Leave a Reply

